County Final Scoil Phobail Sliabh Luachra V St Michael's Listowel.






A talk aimed at parents of students entering senior cycle in September 2012 will take place on 31st January in Teach Iosagain at 7.30pm.


Played in Listry, May 2006.

Scoil Phobail Sliabh Luachra 3-12

Gael Colaiste Tralee 0-9


Congrtatulations. Peter O’Donovan gave a man of the match performance and the second year title was all but in the bag by half-time. O’Donovan scored an outstanding 2-2 from play. His first goal was an angled shot into the cornerof the net from 10m out following good approach play from Jerry O’Connor. His second after 15 minutes was punched over the Tralee keeper when he followed in a Daniel Buckley lob towards goal. Peter had earlier opened the scoring with an excellent point from distance in the 3rd minute of the game. Because of O’Donovans contribution, SPSL were always in control of this game against a fancied Gael Colaiste,Tralee side. After the early goals, points from Jerry O’Connor (2), Daniel Buckley (2) and a late point from Daniel O’Keeffe left the half-time score at SPSL 2-6 Gael Colaiste 0-3. The Tralee side increased their efforts in the second half but could not get the goal that may have brought them back into the game. Although they were under pressure in the second half the Rathmore backline was solid, Danny Dillane & Liam Mullane both outstanding in the centre of defence.

Rogan Roberts played well marking a fast running Tralee forward very well. The game was over as a contest when with just 5 minutes left, a Jerry O’Connor attempt from a point dropped over the keepers head and into the net. The final score of the game came from Liam Mullane who ventured upfield late on.

It was a day when some of the more fancied players failed to make a major impact but this was more then made up for by other players. Kevin Murphy contributed well with 2 second half points from play. Aonghus Murphy played very well in goal. Captain Jerry O’Connor received the trophy from George Dennise, secretary of the VEC county board. This was only the third time in our history that Rathmore had won this title and only the second time as SPSL.


SPSL team and scorers: Aonghus Murphy, Damien Doherty, Danny Dillane, Christopher Nagle, Rogan Roberts, Liam Mullane( 0-1), William O’Keeffe, Stephen O’Keeffe, Daniel Hickey, Daniel O’Keeffe (0-2), Jerry O’Connor(1-3), Kevin Murphy (0-2), Peter O’Donovan(2-2), Daniel Buckley(0-2), Jamie Buckley. Sub: Vincent Cahill for J Buckley (2nd half). James Campion was injured for the final.


by Peter Clarke

Mary Woods was definitely running ladies football before me but my first team was in September '97 when at the end of some staff meeting in my first term at the school I said I'd help out if they couldn't find anyone else who knew the rules. The next day I was taking a gym lesson up the basketball courts when Marie Moynihan arrived up to me with a page of a copy with 50 names on it. Brid O'Sullivan co-trained the team and students Marguerite Herlihy and Emma Cooper also put a lot of time into that first panel.


The B Specials – The Story of the First Ever u-16 B Team to Represent Scoil Phobail Sliabh Luachra

This Account Was First Published in School Magazine in 2007.

A little bit of history was created on Monday 23rd October 2006 when Scoil Phobail Sliabh Luachra fielded an under 16 B team in a competitive game for the first time. A total of 25 players were selected for the A panel, leaving another 26 dedicated and committed footballers to fly the flag with the B specials. The game in question took place at the sports complex, Tralee and was against the Gael Colaiste, Tralee.


vs logo

The Faculty of Science & Engineering, University of Limerick invites Secondary School Pupils and Parents to

For more, click here

School E-Mail

kerio image

School Calendar


Upcoming Events

No events found